I am looking for documentation or more details about exactly what happens when I Deactivate a domain on Mailcow.
E-mail > Configuration > Domains > Edit (per domain) > Active (tickbox)
I would have assumed that access to all services is blocked, so no POP3, IMAP, SMTP or SOGO. But in fact SOGO allows a login, but does not connect to a mailbox after login. So the SOGO interface displays, but no mail at all, the main part of the UI is blank.
A key question is will the system still be accepting incoming mail when a domain is deactivated.
Part of the point of this question is I am wondering whether I can use the Active/Deactivate feature as a kind of safe mode, where the database will be at rest, and therefore more likely to make a nice clean transfer when using the Cold Standby Backup script.
But I’m just interested anyway in exactly what is happening when I deactivate a domain.
Thanks in advance for your help.